About the Jefferson Community Foundation

The Jefferson Community Foundation was established in 1999 to benefit Jefferson and the surrounding area. The foundation helps donors find the best and most tax-effective ways to achieve their charitable objectives. The foundation invests and manages donors’ charitable funds and provides grants and leadership to help meet present and future community needs.

Cornerstone Members

Given in the order listed, the following people and organizations provided an initial gift of $5,000 each to establish the Greater Jefferson Fund. Income from that fund is used to support worthy projects throughout the greater Jefferson area. The foundation board hopes to grow the Greater Jefferson Fund so that it can make more meaningful donations in future years.

  • Gaylin & Carol Morgan
  • Robert & Jan Niebler
  • Lewis Family Fund
  • Del & Patti Chmielewski
  • Kiwanis Club of Jefferson
  • Edward & Georgia Lee Dettmers
  • St. Vincent De Paul Society of Jefferson
  • Paul & Lela Didion
  • Marie Copeland
  • Lions Club of Jefferson
  • FISH
  • Peter & Kate Lorenz
  • Don & Kay Reinders
  • William Hue
  • Rotary Club of Jefferson
  • Jefferson Utility
  • Gary, Barbara, Brian & Rebecca Mayhew
  • Randy & Carol Knox in memory of Gaylin Morgan
  • Fort Community Credit Union

Board of Directors

A nine-member, volunteer board of directors governs the Jefferson Community Foundation. Members are selected for their knowledge of the educational, cultural, civic, moral, public and other charitable needs of the community. They must have significant involvement in or be residents of the school district of Jefferson, or have made significant business investment in or charitable contributions to the area. Members are selected for their capacity to make wise judgments on the use of philanthropic endowments to benefit the people of the Jefferson area. Members represent the community in general, not their respective appointing bodies.

Visit the Board of Directors page.